Sports: Why have Manchester United entered the EFL Trophy and who can they field against Lincoln City?

Sports: Why have Manchester United entered the EFL Trophy and who can they field against Lincoln City?

More exciting sports news from around Lincolnshire…

Lincoln City will face Manchester United Under-21s in the group stage of the EFL Trophy.

The Old Trafford youngsters have been drawn into Northern Section H, which, as well as the Imps, also contains Rotherham United and Doncaster Rovers.

As one of the 16 invited clubs in the competition, Man United will play all of their matches away from home.

Therefore, two of the Imps’ group matches will be at Sincil Bank.

It is the first time the Red Devils have entered a side in the competition, which has attracted criticism for inviting young teams from Premier League and Championship to take part.


Man United’s Academy chief is, Nicky Butt, one of the Old Trafford club’s famed ‘Class of 92’, has explained why they have decided to enter the competition.

“We are looking forward to being involved in the EFL Trophy,” said Butt. 

“The competition provides a range of experiences that will act as the ideal platform for the development of our homegrown talent.

”We are always looking to be innovative in order to find the best development path for our young players. The opportunity to face senior opponents will benefit them greatly.”

Who will be eligible?

Man United must field at six players aged 21 or younger on June 30 in their starting 11.

No more than two players over the age of 21 who have made more than 40 appearances for the first-team (either in the starting 11 or among the substitutes).

Players out on loan at other clubs are eligible to play in the competition, but it is not possible to play for more than one club in the competition due to cup-tied rules.

Northern section draw:

Group A 

Grimsby Town; Scunthorpe United; Sunderland; Leicester City

Group B 

Accrington Stanley; Oldham Athletic; Fleetwood Town; Liverpool

Group C 

Bury; Salford City; Tranmere Rovers; Aston Villa

Group D 

Port Vale; Shrewsbury; Macclesfield Town; Newcastle United

Group E 

Crewe Alexandra; Burton Albion; Mansfield Town; Everton

Group F 

Bolton Wanderers; Bradford City; Rochdale; Manchester City

Group G 

Blackpool; Carlisle United; Morecambe; Wolves

Group H 

Doncaster Rovers; Rotherham United; Lincoln City; Manchester United


Source by [author_name]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Site Hosted and Maintained by HostBanquet - Lincolnshires Own Hosting Provider